Skip to content

The Mental Blessing. How to get anything you want in 21 days

February 23, 2010

The Mental Blessing: How To Get Anything You Want in 21 days

 

          Some years ago a client of mine gave me a little book entitled, Alpha Awareness  Results Book: How To Get Results In Life, How To Flow With The Universe, written by Wally Minto.1  This was a life changing book for me because what it offered was a series of mental exercises for changing the direction of one’s life. One exercise was what Wally referred to as “The Mental Blessing.” The assignment that went along with the exercise was to pick something you want such as a physical possession, a personality characteristic, or a state of mind. He promise that by blessing seven people per day with this “whatever you want” within 21 days this “whatever you want” will show up in your life or the avenue or channel to achieve it will present itself.

          What I picked for my mental blessing was the “ability to play the piano by ear.” I picked it for a couple of reasons. First of all I wanted the experiment to be a real challenge. I knew that for me playing the piano by ear was impossible. Second, I picked it because I really wanted to do it and third, I picked it because if  it didn’t happened it was no big lost because I couldn’t do it now anyway.

          I wrote the blessing down on a 3 X 5 card. “I bless you with the ability to play the piano by ear.” The next morning I looked out the window and saw a jogger going by my house. As I looked at him I silently repeated the words, “I bless you with the ability to play the piano by ear.” I gave the same blessing to someone diving by in an old car. By the time I got to my office that morning I have about 4 blessings in. It was at this office that I really began to comprehend the power of the exercise.      

As I sat in my office that morning an associate of mine came to my doorway and began to confess some of my sins to me. This was in an individual I really disliked or, to put it more accurately, I genuinely despised. Following my commitment for the day to use the blessing I looked at this man and forced myself to think, “I bless you with the ability to play the piano by ear.” Immediately the little voice inside my head that I have come to call the “it” popped up and said, “Are you sure this is what you want to bless him with? You usually bless him with death or that he would have the earth open up in front of him so he would fall in.”

What occurred to me at that moment was that my feelings and sentiment towards this man was not a result of this man. My sentiment was a result of my thoughts about this man. For me to hate him, he didn’t even have to be in the room. All I had to do was think about him and I was angry. My feelings for him had nothing to do with him. My feelings were a result of my own thinking. I new light went on in my head.

That evening on my way home from work someone pulled out in front of me from a stop sign. I blessed the traffic violator with the ability to play the piano by ear. Again the negative voice spoke up and said, “This not what you usually do in this situation. You usually produce the middle finger salute and bless these law breakers with broken glass and dented fenders.”

New possibilities for thinking were beginning to occur to me. I started to bless my children when they would irritate me. I also found that seven blessings a day was not a magic number, it was just a minimum. Ten blessings were certainly permissible. I found out that I have a new tool for getting a handle on my own thinking. I also noticed a definite attitude change.

 Now back to playing the piano by ear. Wally promised that I could do it in 21 days. It didn’t take the full twenty one day. Five days later I was sitting in a religious service in the same place where I always sat on a Sunday morning seeing the same people and the same scenes that I always saw. In walked a man who played the piano for the service. He took his usual seat on the piano bench and started to play some prelude music just like I had seen him do a hundred or more times before. This time, however, I noticed something that had never occurred to me before. He wasn’t using any music. This man was either playing by memory or by ear. Here was someone doing what I wanted to do and he was doing it right in front of my eyes.

I walked up to him after the service and said, “I noticed that you play all of these church hymns without music. How do you do that?”

He replied, “I can’t read music so I had to find an easier way to do this. If you want to do what I do go down to the music store and buy a cord book. Learn a few cords and get a little idea of the sequence of how music fits together and I bet in about two weeks you can play anything.”

The next day I went to the music store and found a fascinating book entitled, How To Play The Piano Despite Years Of Lessons.2 This book, written by Channel and Marx, opened the door to music to me. It gave me one formula to play every cord. It gave a music clock or a cycle of 5ths that illustrated the sequence of cords in almost every piece of music that had ever been written. Two weeks later, which made my 21 days, I could play the piano by ear and a whole new world of possibilities opened up for me.

When I was a little boy my mother made me practice the piano. I hated it. After reading this book and going through this exercise, playing the piano has become a beautiful creative process because now I am not stuck in the written music. Now I just make it up as I go.

About that same time I was going back to school at Gonzaga University in Spokane, Washington. My problem was money. I didn’t have enough to pay my tuition. I concluded that if the “Mental Blessing” would work for playing the piano by ear it should work for everything else. I started blessing people with tuition money. Seven people a day got blessed with enough money to go to school. Five days into that blessing I walked into the graduate office and blessed the secretary with “Enough money to go to school.” For some reason I did this blessing out loud.

She asked, Do you need money for school?”

I answered in the affirmative.

She said, “We have a graduate assistance program that is providing tuition for 4 students. We have awarded two of the scholarships already but we have two left to go. In this top draw,” and here she pointed to a two drawer filing cabinet, “are the applications that we have accepted and awarded scholarships. In the bottom drawer are the applications that have been submitted and rejected. I’m going out to get a cup of coffee and when you leave this office you lock the door.” Then she got up and left, closing the door behind her.

I sat down at her desk and took the opportunity she had given me to make a comparison between the two categories of files. I then when home and made a file and an application for a grant that looked like the ones in the top drawer. That day that great lady gave $10,000 for my graduate tuition.

Now I am not naive enough to believe that if you go out and start blessing people with great sums of money that in three weeks it is going to show up behind your back door, but what I do believe is that within three weeks an avenue or channel to secure that money will show up.

Remember the law of performance. “Possibilities do not begin in time and space as a physical object. Possibilities being in language in the nature of the conversations we have with ourselves and others. They become real in time and space as we continue to express them and refuse to allow their opposites to enter our minds.

Process of Life Thought: Understanding this concept is the key to re-evaluating our self perceptions and interrupting the cycle of self defeating behaviors.  The process of life is as follows:

Event > Thought / Interpretation > Feeling > Action > Result!

Our lives start to go awry and self defeating behaviors continue when we think that we are controlled by events or circumstances outside our own heads instead of realizing that: “The dominating thoughts that I persistently hold in my mind will eventually reproduce themselves in outward physical action, and gradually transform themselves into physical reality.”

 

Your Assignment:  Should you choose to accept it. The Mental Blessing:

Pick something you want. Write it down on a 3 X 5 card in the format, “I bless you with ______.” 

Ex: Here you might include peace, happiness, or financial security.

Instead of listening to the “ever presents voice” in your head, consciously bless them with what you wrote on your 3 x 5 card, the things you want in your life.  “Create from nothing”, a new present, now, instead of from your past experiences of/with them.  You will rapidly see that you are able to change your future by creating what you want, now! 

Take note particularly of those people who currently irritate you. That irritation is there because of what you are currently thinking in your mind.  Take control!  Consciously bless them with what you want.  Begin returning to your “inner core” and start seeing what you want show up.  What you don’t want will start to dissipate from your life.  Do this for the next seven days and write down what you notice is beginning to come into your mind – and therefore into your life.

Note: If you are blessing others with something particularly big, let’s say with something like $80,000, it may be too much to assume that a check will show up in your mail box for that amount with the next three weeks. What most likely will show up is an idea or a plan to produce that amount within a progressive and reasonable amount of time.

Write it down. Watch what comes!

Let me know what happens.

 1Minto, W. The Results Book: How To Flow With The Universe And Eliminate The Frustration In Your Life. Coleman Graphics, Inc. Farmingdale, N.Y. 1976.

 2Channel, Edward. How To Play The Piano Despite Years Of Lessons. John Romano Inc. 1976.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

